back to SVA Websiteto SVA Blogto SVA Sales Page
SVA Forum Forum Index SVA Forum
Society Of Virtual Assistants
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Domain Name Scam

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SVA Forum Forum Index -> Legal Issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jude



Joined: 28 Jun 2009
Posts: 23
Location: Warwickshire

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 10:28 pm    Post subject: Domain Name Scam Reply with quote

Hi All

I received an email this week from Hong Kong stating that a third party was trying to register several domains using my business name. Naturally I was annoyed and replied asking for more info, and they listed SEVEN domains two of which are European, that they wanted to register. Fortunately I checked the internet before calling a solicitor, and realised it's just a fraudulent selling technique originating in China. So don't be alarmed if you receive something like this:

From: cairns.chen [mailto:cairns.chen@hknsc.org]
Sent: 12 October 2009 10:19
To: enquiries
Subject: executype Domain name & Internet keyword registration


Dear CEO & Manager,

We are a domain name registration center in Hong Kong, mainly dealing with domain name registration and internet intellectual property rights protection. On Oct 11,2009 we received a formal application from a company who is applying to register several domains, using “executype ”as the keyword. After investigation,we find that you are the original user of the keyword. Such similar domain cases may involve your trademark and company name,and may cause website confusion and conflicts. For a responsible attitude, we inform you here and ask for your opinion. If you don't mind,we will finish registration for the third company.


Look forward to your reply.

Cairns chen
Tel: +852-31757930(ext.8015)
Fax: +852-31757932
Email: Cairns.chen@hknsc.org
Website: www.hk-net.hk
_________________
Judith

_________________________
Executype Office Services
www.executype.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sally@Stonetext
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 1023
Location: Clackmannanshire

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've received something similar. After an initial surge of panic it went straight in the round filing basket on the floor (electronic equivalent).
_________________
Sally
Stonetext Online Admin Services www.stonetext.co.uk
Stonetext Web & Graphic Design www.stonetext.f2s.com

Please help to support SVA by donating to: http://tinyurl.com/37urec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
caroline
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 03 May 2006
Posts: 2295
Location: Glasgow

PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup - me too! I don't really want to buy virtuallysorted.hk / .yp / .something.com etc. Go ahead and use them!

In fact I might even get some more business too as my domain is more universal... Ah, the joys of being .com!
_________________
To support SVA please donate to: http://tinyurl.com/37urec

SVA Monthly Topics - experts, individual help, how-to guides + special deals:
http://www.societyofvirtualassistants.co.uk/subscribe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SVA Forum Forum Index -> Legal Issues All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group